Logo

Kumbali Projekt e.V.

Lake Malawi
Africa Map

Deutsche Version

Contents

Home

Background

The Pilot Project

Malawi Kindergarten Team

Permaculture

Volunteer with us

The Association

Online Donation

News

Gallery

Movies

Links

.

Towards Kanengo

Photo: Maergner

On the way to Salima

.

Lake Malawi

.

Liwonde

Photo: Maergner

Fertilising

.

Maize drying

.

Fireplace

About us

Kumbali Projekt e.V.
Brunnweinbergstr. 2
D-71334 Waiblingen
Tel.:+49(0)7151 277003
Fax: +49(0)7151 277004
Mobile:+49(0)17627180767
mailto:kumbali@railcat.de
URL: http://www.kumbaliprojekt.de

The Country

The Warm Heart of Africa

The Warm Heart of Africa is Malawi called quite rightly, and its inhabitants stand by the slogan with heart and soul. In this friendly and peaceful country, one meets with affection, mindfulness and interest everywhere. Despite all problems - even facing a difficult economical and political situation at present - the people exude a profound agreement with life.

UN-Map of Malawi

Geography

Malawi is situated in the southern part of the East African Rift. With an area of 118,484 km², a north-south length of 850 km and a west-east width of 350 km it is a comparatively small country. The landscape is characterised through plateaus that are dominated by inselbergs, wide lowlands and the Lake Malawi. The latter, well known to aquarium enthusiasts, is the third largest inland lake of Africa. In the east, south and southwest, Mozambique encloses the country like a large pair of pliers. Other neighbour countries are Zambia in the west and Tanzania to the north. The climate is subtropical with three main seasons - cool, hot, rainy -; main rainfalls occur from December through March.

Population

Malawi has a population of 16.7 million inhabitants with a growth rate of 2.8%; 45% are less than 15 years old. Approximately 10% of the adults live with the HIV/AIDS disease. Population density is 177 per km²; only 16% live in urbanised areas. 80% of the children of school age visit a school, but there is a lack of schools and teachers as well. Besides the official languages English and Chichewa several Bantu languages are spoken. 83% of the population is Christian. 

Politics and Economy

Malawi is a parliamentary presidential republic and member of the Commonwealth of Nations. President and parliament are elected every 5 years. 90% of the inhabitants live on agriculture. Main crops are maize for home requirements, and tobacco, tea and sugar cane for export. The Gross National Income (Atlas method) per capita declined from 370US$ in 2011 to 250 US$ in 2014. Inflation rate is in a two-digit range (24.1% in 2014). Less than 8% of the people have access to electricity, and almost 71% are living under the poverty line. Currency is the Malawi Kwacha; 1 EUR corresponds to approx. 790 MWK (29th May 2016).

Logo

Kumbali Projekt e.V.

Lake Malawi
Africa Map

English Version

Inhalt

Home

Vorgeschichte

Das Pilotprojekt

Kindergartenteam Malawi

Permakultur

Eine Chance für Freiwillige

Der Verein

Online Spende

News

Galerie

Movies

Links

Towards Kanengo

Photo: Maergner

auf dem Weg nach Salima

.

Lake Malawi

.

Liwonde

Photo: Maergner

Düngung

.

Maistrockung

.

Kochstelle

Impressum

Kumbali Projekt e.V.
Brunnweinbergstr. 2
D-71334 Waiblingen
Tel.:+49(0)7151 277003
Fax: +49(0)7151 277004
Mobil:+49(0)17627180767
mailto:kumbali@railcat.de
URL: http://www.kumbaliprojekt.de/

Das Land Malawi

The Warm Heart of Africa

Das warme Herz Afrikas wird Malawi zu Recht genannt, und die Einwohner stehen dazu mit Leib und Seele. Warmherzigkeit, Aufmerksamkeit und Interesse begegnen einem überall in diesem freundlichen und friedlichen Land. Trotz aller Probleme - auch in der derzeit schwierigen wirtschaftlichen und politischen Situation - strahlen die Menschen eine tiefgründige Übereinkunft mit dem Leben aus.

UN-Map of Malawi

Geographie

Malawi liegt im südlichen Teil des ostafrikanischen Grabenbruchs und ist mit einer Fläche von 118.484 km² und einer Ausdehnung von 850 km (Nord-Süd) bzw. 350 km (West-Ost) ein verhältnismäßig kleines Land. Die Landschaft wird von Hochflächen, die von einzelnen Inselbergen überragt werden, weiten Ebenen und dem Malawisee geprägt. Der Aquarianern wohlbekannte Malawisee ist das drittgrößte Binnengewässer Afrikas. Im Osten, Süden und Südwesten umschließt Mosambik das Land wie eine große Zange, im Westen grenzt es an Sambia, im Norden an Tansania. Das Klima ist subtropisch mit drei Hauptjahreszeiten - kühl, heiß, Regenzeit -, wobei die meisten Niederschläge von Dezember bis März fallen.

Bevölkerung

Malawi hat 16,7 Millionen Einwohner bei einer Wachstumsrate von 2,8%, 45% der Bevölkerung sind unter 15 Jahren. Etwa 10 % der Erwachsenen sind HIV-positiv. Die Bevölkerungsdichte beträgt 177 Einwohner pro km², nur 16% leben in den Städten. 80% der Kinder im schulfähigen Alter besuchen die Schule, es mangelt jedoch sowohl an Schulen als auch an Lehrern. Neben den Amtssprachen Englisch und Chichewa werden noch weitere Bantusprachen gesprochen. 83% der Bevölkerung sind Christen. 

Politik und Wirtschaft

Malawi ist eine präsidiale Republik im Commonwealth. Präsident und Parlament werden jeweils alle 5 Jahre gewählt. 90% der Bevölkerung leben von der Landwirtschaft. Angebaut werden vor allem Mais für den Eigenbedarf, Tabak, Tee und Zuckerrohr für den Export. Das Bruttonationaleinkommen fiel von 370 US$ in 2011 auf 250 US$ pro Kopf in 2014. Die Inflationsrate liegt im zweistelligen Bereich (24,1% in 2014). Weniger als 8% der Bevölkerung haben Zugang zu Elektrizität, knapp 71% leben unter der offiziellen Armutsgrenze. Währung ist der Malawi Kwacha; 1 EUR entspricht etwa 790 MWK (29.05.2016).